Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 19, 2024, 06:21:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Child support agreement (no court)

Started by MikeyD, Nov 15, 2006, 09:29:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MikeyD

Is there a special form that one can file through court regarding a specified child support amount agreed upon by both parties if no one
files to get CS?

I just found out I have a daughter and her mother and I have agreed
not to do things in a nasty battle and we have agreed on a CS payment.
I do want this documented though.  I want "something" to say that I am
giving her $xxx amount towards child support.

Is there such a thing?  I'm new at all of this, so any help will be appreciated.

Thank you,
MikeyD

mistoffolees

I would think that you're going to need to get the court involved at least to rubber stamp the agreement. Otherwise, the mother could come back a few years later and say you didn't pay enough and file for back support. Even worse, all the money you pay before now and then will be considered a gift and won't count.

Also, there are state guidelines in most states where you plug in your income, her income, and any unusual expenses and it calculates the support. You won't want to very significantly from that number.

In sort, agree to what the state 'suggests' and get the court to approve it. If you're in agreement, it won't cost too much to file it with the court and will save you a world of headaches.

FLMom

I don't know where you're at, but in Florida there is a way to do this.

If you and the other parent agree, you could start by filing something like a stipulated agreement. It sounds fancy, but it's just a written out version of what you and the other parent have agreed upon. Both parties sign and have the document notarized, then file it with the family court system.