Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 18, 2024, 09:50:46 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Hope and a Touch of Humor for Fighting Fathers

Started by webcat_iowa, Dec 02, 2005, 09:59:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

webcat_iowa

My fiance and I have been fighting for custody of his two children for over two years.  Prior to that, we were in court monthly for a year as his ex filed restraining orders, modifications, and child support increase requests.  When I met his children the first thing he was able to show me was a massive third degree burn on his son's calf from a space heater at her house, and a diaper rash so intense on his daughter's labia that it was labeled a yeast infection by a doctor (who would not file a report of neglect) and she screamed every time we changed her diaper.  We'd heal her but every weekend she came back with it.  I had no idea how biased the court system was until witnessing the especially shoddy treatment he received from judges and court clerks - as if he were the worst father on earth when all he wanted to do was set up regular visitation.  He was lucky to find an excellent family law attorney and get every weekend with them, then 1 and 3.  Having never been married, this was an extraordinary right.