Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 23, 2024, 11:22:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length

FL Child Support Contempt Notice...What To Do???

Started by jhuddleston73, May 20, 2009, 05:18:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jhuddleston73

I just received a notice in the mail today saying my ex (custodial parent) is petitioning for an order of contempt for not paying child support. I am in arrears, but I have a withholding order that tacks on an additional amount per pay period to go towards arrears. I have been paying through income deduction for quite a few years. I reside in FL and my ex resides in CA. I checked my payments on the CA website and they only go back to 2006, but there is a clear record of steady payment to at least January 2006. I started income withholding back in 2000 or 2001. There were a couple of times that I was unemployed, but the deductions resumed as soon as I started working again.
Why would I be getting such a notice when it is obvious that I have been paying all this time?  I am extremely concerned because I know how skewed a lot of the statutes are. I currently have 2 other biological children that live with me and my fiance, and I am the sole provider. Will they try to force me into a situation where I must pay a purge to avoid incarceration? I pay everything I can, and we struggle to make ends meet as it is. I know in FL there was a case, Larsen vs. Larsen that stated the non-custodial parent could not be held in civil or criminal contempt if they are financially unable to pay the purge, but I am really scared. I don't want to go to jail, lose my jobs, lose my kids, and all of that, especially since I have been paying all of this time.
Can someone give me some much needed guidance? Should I consult an attorney (which I cannot afford)?

jhuddleston73