Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Mar 28, 2024, 01:29:30 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Custodial parent intentionally unemployed? Modification - what can I do?

Started by robert1975, Nov 28, 2011, 06:07:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

robert1975

I recently received some paperwork from the local child support agency in California that they want to modify the order to take almost $1600 a month in child support up from the $500 I have been paying for for the past 5-6 years.  The issue I have with this is that the custodial parent (my 16 year old son's mom) doesn't work and has not worked for a very long time.  The amount they are requesting is ridiculous and would totally change my living situation as I may need to find a room mate or move to a different location.  She is currently collecting benefits from the state (CA) and is on assisted housing.  A couple facts about this case...

**  My son is 16 and I have about 35-40% custody.
**  I provide all transportation and insurance benefits.
**  His mom is on assisted housing and has a 4 or 5 bedroom house (yes, you read that right).  Her Boyfriend, other children that are over age 18, grand daughter, my son and her other minor son all live there - rent free. 
**  Son's mom is a recovering drug addict - even when the kids were taken from her for drug abuse, I could not get custody of my son because they did not want to separate my son and his half brother - even though I told the court I would take both and had an empty room at my house.  I have never had a run in with the law and am not a drug user or smoker.
**  Son's mom does not work - so she has zero income (yet she has cigarettes and frequently plays bingo)
**  Son's mom has a degree and no handicaps that would prevent her from working