Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Mar 29, 2024, 06:49:28 AM

Login with username, password and session length

X-posted...modifications needed?.. Opinions please.

Started by Modifymenow, Sep 21, 2012, 08:51:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Modifymenow

Not sure if this is the right forum to post this. 

I have been tracking overnights for over 2 years now and have had my children over 40% of the time for both years.  This is a significant change to the parenting plan agreed upon in the divorce. 
I mentioned to my ex that we need to discuss the fact that I have the kids more than agreed upon and that I want to keep seeing them as much as possible but we need to discuss modifying child support to reflect the changes. 
This did not go over well and now she if denying me the extra nights I was getting to spend with the kids. 
She claims I was just taking them to get a reduction in CS.  This is ridiculous because I want to spend as much time as possible with them, and she has had no problem with that until now, with the mention of money.

My question to all of you is what kind of chance would I have for joint custody, or at least having the parenting plan adjusted to reflect the status quo of extra nights (40+% overnights) thus reducing child support. 

I am afraid a judge will not care and I will end up with needing to adhere to original parenting plan and rarely get tosee my kids.

Thank you.c

tigger

You went in the wrong order.  You should have requested getting the order updated to reflect the status quo schedule (the extra overnights) and then gotten CS reduced.
The wonderful thing about tiggers is I'm the only one!

Modifymenow

Well we have not done anything official yet... Is this your recommendation when we speak to an attorney ?

tigger

You spoke to the ex regarding changing CS before you spoke with her about changing the order to reflect reality. That's where the wrong order came into play.