Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 24, 2024, 02:59:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Absent Father

Started by wlaws, Jan 30, 2013, 07:43:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wlaws

Lets start with a little back story first. I am a 25 year old student (graduate in 1 year woohoo) and mother of the most amazing soon to be 5 (wow growing up way to fast for mom). His father and I have been apart for going on 3 years and were off and on the previous 2 years of his life. We were high school sweethearts and well- things didn't work out. He was/is a drug abuser, not to say I haven't partied my fair share but when nothing serious and when I found out I was pregnant I quit everything and by everything I mean cigarettes, pop, only ate organic. I really dove in to becoming a parent. I was young- to young, and I still feel at 25 that I have to over compensate, I don't want people to see me and think there's another young mother not being responsible so responsible I became. Him on the other hand, not so much.

When my son was born he had to have emergency surgery on his stomach we spent almost 3 weeks in the NICU and I never left. The nurses all new not to change a diaper if I wasn't in the room I was just down stairs eating and would be right back. I've never loved something so much as when I seen his face. His father (i use the term only to describe because I do not consider him a father) visited once- high.

I didn't have the greatest  adolencents. My parents were not bad parents it was just when I needed to most parenting was when they were having the most problems. Divorce, housing all that, so I will admit that when it comes to my little one I've tried to be so perfect. Ya know? I don't want to do anything that could potentially F him up when older. I breast feed, I made his own baby food, I read all the books. I feel like he's the one thing that I do right.