Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 25, 2024, 12:26:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Almost Father Seeking Help

Started by TheScott, Mar 16, 2007, 02:09:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheScott

Hello all,

I'm new to this, so please bear with me.

I am 23 years old and about to graduate college with a business degree. I started to date a girl and after 2 months, we found out she was pregnant. We tried to make things work, we moved in together, and things just were not going smoothly, so we broke up, but tried to stay rational. We couldn't do that either, and not by choice, I have not spoken with her for 3 months. She is due on April 28th and I would like to know some things.

1) I know I have to get a paternity test because she claimed after 6 months that the child might not be mine. I am almost 99% sure it is mine, though, for various reasons. What is the right way to go about getting this done?

2) What should I do when my son is born? Is there a way to go about establishing my rights and seeing him? I highly doubt she will call me when she goes into labor, because she believes that if she gives me enough grief, I will have nothing to do with my son, but that is not the case at all.

3) At what point do I seek legal representation? Is it too soon now?

4) What are the odds of a joint custody decision?

Any answers, advice, follow-up questions are very much appreciated and welcomed.

Thank you,

Scott

Jade

>Hello all,
>
>I'm new to this, so please bear with me.
>
>I am 23 years old and about to graduate college with a
>business degree. I started to date a girl and after 2 months,
>we found out she was pregnant. We tried to make things work,
>we moved in together, and things just were not going smoothly,
>so we broke up, but tried to stay rational. We couldn't do
>that either, and not by choice, I have not spoken with her for
>3 months. She is due on April 28th and I would like to know
>some things.
>