Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Mar 29, 2024, 01:14:13 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Newbie here (long)

Started by cartman, Aug 09, 2004, 11:19:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

msme

Now, you might want to add a few things to your weapons arsenol. I would send her a card each time she goes home. They have all sorts of neat cards for kids. Tell her that you enjoyed your time together & are looking forward to the next time. Tell her to call if there is something particular that she would like to do on the next visit or if there is some event coming up that she would like to attend with you.

Copy the cards & send them with proof of mailing, don't do certified. Don't mention them for a few weeks, unless she does. If she doesn't mention them, then casually mention that you were a bit surprised that she never mentioned them.

Odds are that she will say that she doesn't know what you are talking about. You can then produce the copies of the cards & the proofs of mailing & ask, sort of bewilderedly, "Are you sure you didn't get these? I Know I used the right address. I guess you will have to ask your mom about them." Then change the subject.

You might also ask her to help plan the menu for her weekends & help with the cooking. Kids love to cook & after awhile, you might find that working in the kitchen together lends itself to opening doors for communicating.

I would also set certain rules for behavior. Such as not allowing her to just sit & cry over her mother. Decide on an appropriate discipline. Also, I would do as the others have suggested & have her see a counselor when she is with you.

Good Luck & God bless.
You never get a second chance to make a first impression!

sweetnsad

Cartman, that's wonderful news...I'm glad to hear that you are doing the right thing....Msme has great ideas, I would use them if I were you...

(((hugs))) to both you and your daughter.

cartman