Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 19, 2024, 11:34:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Visitation Woes

Started by KDBarrett, Apr 24, 2006, 08:49:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KDBarrett

I am 34 years old and am on parole. I have three children- a son who is 17, a daughter who is 15, and a daughter who is almost ten months (different mothers). I pay child support for my children. I do not use drugs. I am gainfully employed, and am a productive member of society. I am a manager at my place of business.
My youngest daughter was born July 9, 2005. Her mother and I have been separated since January, 2005 due to irreconcilable differences.
On October 3, 2005 I attended a child-support hearing at which I was ordered to pay $258 per month. Prior to that time, I gave my ex money EVERY time that she requested assistance with items for the baby. The total of this assistance was over $1000.
I was granted supervised visitation with either my ex or her mother, at her mother's house. However, whenever my ex had plans or had to work an unscheduled shift (working in the city where I reside), she would call at the last minute (while I was at work, usually) asking me to watch my daughter at her mother's house (two hours from where I reside). If I could not comply with her request as specified, she would inevitably say that I didn't take the initiative to see my daughter when given the opportunity to do so. She also uses my parole status to threaten that she will not have any problem taking away all visitation rights.
I have seen my daughter a total of 7 times. Four of these visits were held in my ex's mother's home. The other three have been in the city where I reside. Two of these were overnight visits. The last time I saw my daughter for more than 30 minutes was the day after Thanksgiving, 2005.