Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 25, 2024, 06:18:18 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Step-Parent Visitation?

Started by gemini3, Sep 06, 2007, 07:09:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gemini3

If I'm out of town on business, can my wife exercise my visitation?  The custody and vistation order doesn't address this specifically, just says "father will have access to the children on ...".  I'm going out of town for several weeks, and want the kids to still be able to visit my wife and their friends and pets here, but BM is saying no.  

I'm wondering if there's anything I can do about it.  Suggestions?

mistoffolees

I'm not a lawyer and am not sure, but my guess is that you can't force the issue.

It often happens when the CP and NCP get along reasonably well and many CPs don't really care about it, but I don't think the court will overrule the CP's objection since the visitation is with the father, not the father's wife, friends, pets, etc.

I would assume that you can't win and see if you can negotiate something. If you can't, then you're probably stuck.

dsm

you could push it and have the kids come as regularly scheduled.

However, this could also be set to be a web spun to put doubt in the minds of your kids.  Far-fetched?  Maybe.  Consider this.

Instead of having the kids come as scheduled, request makeup time for when you return.  i.e. if you are going to miss two weekends by being gone, which then results in the kids being with your ex for four weekends in a row, request that when you return, they are with you for the makeup.  Be prepared that she may say no way to the rescheduled time - but then, request for extended days at summer or other holiday; 3-day weekend, etc.

Of course, I'm not a lawyer, so don't take this as gospel.
==============================================================================

dsm - 36; DH - 40; SD - 17; LO - 11; BB - 4
------------------