Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 22, 2024, 11:10:12 PM

Login with username, password and session length

What do I do?

Started by Lisa Maria, Apr 30, 2004, 10:31:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lisa Maria

Lisa M. Lee

This is my first time on here and I need some help with a decision. I was married for five and a half years, my ex and I have two daughters. When we split i was with someone else for about a year and we had a baby girl. However, the man I was dating went to prison when I was seven months pregnant. He will be there for quite some time because when he is done in the state of Minnesota he has more charges and time to do in Florida.
After I had the baby, Faith five months old, my ex and I started talking and decided to give it another try. He has been there for my daughter with this other man since she was less than a month old. He provides for her and treats as if she was his daughter. Her bio father does nothing as he is in prison. All he does is send letters degrading me. His parents take her on the weekends and take her to the prison to visit him, they also do nothing but talk bad about me around her.
My question is, should I just terminate the biological fathers rights and let my exhusband adopt her? I think it would be less confusing for her when she gets older and much better NOT to have a five felony criminal in her life.
Please let me know what you all think is the best thing to do and if termination is the best, how do I go about doing something like that?

Thank you very much in advance for your responce.

Mom trying to do whats best for her Angel,
Lisa

Kitty C.

You can't.  All you can do is ask.

This would be the best case scenario:  you and your ex get back together and remarry, you ask the BF if he wants to terminate his rights and responsibilities (as your new husband would be willing to adopt), then if he says yes, you have to file for termination and prove to the court that the child will be taken care of.