Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 25, 2024, 01:25:17 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Right of First Refusal with a stepfamily

Started by lsaenz, Nov 09, 2004, 08:02:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lsaenz

Hi there!  This is my first time here and it's taken me a long time to find your site.  Mine is a very long story but I am going to try to condense it so I can get some feedback quick.

My husband has a son who is 10 yrs old.  We have been together for 8 yrs.  So for 8 yrs we have built a family unit with his son and my two sons ages 15 and 8.   We have never really had a problem with his ex before now but that's because my husband has allways given her her way.  Now he stands up to her and we have a fight on our hands... He recently had his days off at work changed and she did not want to agree to change his visitation days so we had to hire an attorney.  She had her attorney add in the right of first refusal after 4 hrs.  We were under the impression that the RoFR pertained to the time of pick up.  Needless to say we were wrong and when we ? his attorney as to why he allowed it to be in the new stipulation if that's how it could be used his reply was because he never thought she would use it that way!  What she is doing is considering me a third party caregiver while my husband is at work so when his son is here for visitation-three days one week and four days the next week-she shows up when he is at work and says she is invoking her RoFR.  On our Halloween holiday she did the same thing-she said noone but his dad could pick him up before 2pm (we were supposed ot have him from 9-9) but after 2 anyone could pick him up.