Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 23, 2024, 11:14:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Getting Married - Again

Started by Wi-Mom, Mar 26, 2004, 01:44:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wi-Mom

Well.. I'm getting married in September. Both of us are divorced. I have 3 kids. He's also got 3. 2 with one mother, 1 with another. I'm coming into this marriage owning the home I've lived in for 12 years. If I were to die, I would want my ex-husband to move into the house and continue to raise our children in the home they've grown up in. The house should go to them. (fiance totally agrees). If we were to divorce, again I would retain the home for my children. I am also an artist and have a lot of artwork that has some value. My ex and I still have mutual funds in a joint account. Per divorce.. half of those are mine also.

Our concern is for his ex wife and children. We don't want his children to have any rights to any of the possessions I've owned prior to our marriage. These things are for my own children. In Wisconsin when we are married all possessions become the property of both of us.

In the event of our death, I would want to prevent his family from making any claims. Another concern would be if he were to possibly lose his job and fall behind on child support. How do I protect my own finaces/possessions from any possibility of being subject to any consequences?

Do I need a Pre-nuptual agreement? Or a will? Does anyone have any experience in these things?

Peanutsdad

I would advise you to post this to Soc's board.

My own knowledge of this tells me that a prenup will adequately protect your possessions/finances,, BUT,, I really think its best you speak with an attrny.

sweetnsad

I've read your re-edited version of this for Soc and I left a response, but it was deleted, so I'll write it again...Anyone that wants to read her actual post to Soc should do so...it explains what I'm trying to say here.