Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 20, 2024, 05:17:00 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Re-Marriage - Edited

Started by socrateaser, Mar 30, 2004, 10:39:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wi-Mom

The General Board thought I should post this question here:

I'm getting married in September.  I live in WI

Both of us are divorced. I have 3 kids. He's also got 3. 2 with one mother, 1 with another.

I'm coming into this marriage owning the home I've lived in for 12 years. If I were to die, I would want my ex-husband to move into the house and continue to raise our children in the home they've grown up in. The house should go to them. (fiance totally agrees).

If we were to divorce I would want to retain the home for my children. I am also an artist and have a lot of artwork that has some value. My ex and I still have mutual funds in a joint account. Per our divorce agreement, half of those are mine also.

In Wisconsin when we marry all possessions become equally both of ours.

1. Should we die, how do I keep his children from having any rights to any of the possessions I've owned prior to our marriage? These things are for my own children.

2. Should he lose his job and fall behind on child support. How do I protect my own finaces/possessions from any possibility of being subject to any consequences?

3. Should we divorce,  how do I preserve my home, artwork, mutual funds from being divided between us?

4. How would you suggest I solidify my wish to have my ex-husband take possession of my house (to be owned by the children) in the event of my death. (yup..new hubby is out on the street).

Thanks.

socrateaser

>1. Should we die, how do I keep his children from having any
>rights to any of the possessions I've owned prior to our
>marriage? These things are for my own children.

a. Execute a will that specifically designate who gets what.