Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 18, 2024, 02:45:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length

child support changes

Started by youngatheart, Sep 10, 2005, 08:00:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

youngatheart

My divorce was finalized on July 13th, 2005 in Oklahoma.  We finally came to an agreement, and he and his attorney took it before the Judge to be signed.  As stipulated in the agreed upon decree, we share Joint Custody of the children, with me being primary in the school year, and him being primary in the summer (from one week after school ends until one week before school resumes).  We also alternate weekends and holidays all year long.

My ex is 100% disabled, but still makes 3 times what I make (from the VA and Social Security), even when you figure figure in what I receive from Social Security for our children.  I am a preschool teacher at our children's school, so there is no need for childcare.

Following are parts of our decree that are relevant to my questions:

*  "Based on the attached Joint Custody Plan, neither party shall pay child support to the other."

*  "SCHOOL RELATED COSTS.  The parties agree that any costs associated with the children's schooling, including costs for extra-curricular activities, shall be split equally by the parties."

*  "Respondent shall retain the children's social security payments for the benefit of the minor children."

*  "Petitioner (my ex) shall continue to make the monthly payments on the auto loan to XXXX for the auto which is awarded to the Respondent (me), beginning on July 1, 2005, until January 1, 2008, when Respondent will take over payments from Petitioner."

My questions are as follows:

1)  I have the children 2/3 of the time, and make 1/3 of what my ex makes, based on what the decree says about neither party shall pay child support to the other, is there no way I can go back to ask for child support later?