Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 25, 2024, 11:05:59 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Somewhat Legal question.

Started by Arkleron, Oct 04, 2006, 10:18:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Arkleron

I feel lost. I have a son that I havn't seen since he was 2. The mother got married and moved him outta state without telling me. I've been paying child support for the last 5-7 years.

Now I understand the department of justice's laws against releasing any info on the mother, but when I ask for info on my son such as SSN#'s and full names for taxes, their like Tuff luck. I tried to talk to a lawyer but he wanted $5000 upfront.

What can I do in this situation?

Also, I want to get a paternity test done cause I felt like I was bullied into signing the birth certificate and wasn't really sure he was mine. How can I make her do that now that I live in AZ and she's in Oregon?

Giggles

Do you have a custody order?

Do you have a CS order?  Is it through Child support enforcement, or do you pay directly, do you have a wage withholding order?

Do you have a visitation order?

What do you need DS's SS# for?  If you are paying support and havent seen the child then it's highly unlikely that you can claim him on any taxes and CS payments are not tax deductable.
Now I'm living....Just another day in Paradise!!

Kent

It's not that complicated, and yet, it's very complicated.

Apparently there is a custody order, since you're paying child support.
Did the order also specify parenting time for you?

The most important thing for you to do is: FIND HER.
If you have court ordered parenting time, you need to inform her (in writing, certified with return receipt) of your intentions to resume your parenting time.
If you do NOT have court ordered parenting time, you need to file for parenting time, obtain a court hearing in the county the child lives, have her served, and go to court.