Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Mar 28, 2024, 03:54:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Going against the court Order

Started by gerogiadad, Jul 19, 2007, 08:51:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gerogiadad

I am new to all this "Custodial Parent" stuff.  I am an Unwed Father that gained primary custody.
Now, however, I have the battle of my life apparently trying to get the NCP to follow the court order.  She lives a few states away and the court order states that she is allowed to have visitation by flying our child to and from visitation.  She has been given a deviation in Child support to provide for this.  She sent me an email that states she will be Driving this 14 hour trip.  I feel that if I allow this, I will be in contempt.  But I also feel that if I deny this visitation based on the court order I can also be held in contempt.  

How can I proceed?  Do I deny, or allow?  Are there any legal actions that can be taken if I deny based on the information?

thanks

Sherry1

exercise visitation?  If the court order is specific that flying is the only way to exercise visitation, then you do not have to send the child for visition.  She would be in violation of the court order if she tries to take the child via car if via flying is specified in the court order.  I think you need to contact your lawyer ASAP and ask him/her.

gerogiadad

the exact wording is

"The Mother shall be permitted to travel with (Child's name) from (home, State) to (NCP's home, state) on a direct flight and return seven (7) days later provided that she give the Father at least thirty (30) days notice of her intention to exercise visitation. He shall not be returned to the home of the Father any later than 7:00 P.M."

I have sent my lawyer an email asking this question.  Just trying to get some more info while waiting on the return conversation.

Sherry1