Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 25, 2024, 06:22:01 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Child Emancipation Help! Long story..

Started by ShiftingStarlight, Jul 17, 2006, 07:19:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ShiftingStarlight

Currently I am in legal custody of my father, and have been since I was 11 when my parents divorced. I am 17 now, and I need help and advice, and figured I may get some answers here. I am a legal resident of Oklahoma, but I want to live in Missouri, and my mother is offering for me to stay here so I can get a start on my own life. At my fathers I have not been allowed a job, or any modes of transportation (it has been forbidden, and I only just learned how to drive a few weeks ago because my grandparents paid for me to take drivers ed), and the only reason I have wanted to keep living there is because I want to graduate school/not leave my fiance behind, seeing as how I only have a year left now in school. I had alot of problems in regular highschool, it was just too large and overwhelming and I was failing. Luckily there was an alternative program that accepted me in February and since then I have almost caught up to the grade I need to be in. It has helped me alot and I haven't wanted to give up an opporotunity that good to help me graduate, so I stayed. But, recently (I am on my allowed months vacation to my mothers) here in Jeff City they are opening their first alternative program and I am already accepted there, after my interview last week. I already know how hard it will be to even "talk" to my father about moving here. He doesn't want to lose out on any of my child support, which I could get him in alot of trouble for. My mother sends him $700 a month and I only see 100 of that. Even worse is that he is 46 years old and still living at his parents house! I have only lived with my father once, and it was when he first got custody of me, so he was ordered to have a place for me to live. It wa