Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 25, 2024, 08:56:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length

School work parenting

Started by pickupsticks, Nov 11, 2004, 09:15:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pickupsticks

My ex and I are waiting on another hearing for modification of custody. My wife has primary now but we are joint physical and legal.I have been helping my child study for the past two years over the phone since my ex moved 12 hours away.My child is 10. I have emails where I contacted the teacher on a weekely basis and even met the teacher before my ex did and she lived 20 minutes away. Boy that was embarrassing for the ex. ANYWAY..now that we are going through custody stuff...my ex has become "THE BEST MOM IN THE WORLD". She now volunteers at school and helps my child with her schoolwork every night...which I love however it is only for "looks". Now she refuses to let me study with my daughter on the phone (only allows me to talk for 15 minutes twice a week) and will not give me her book bag when I visit so that I can review it. I still email her teachers but now she has requested to be copied on the teachers emails with me because we have joint legal custody.  Why is life so frustrating sometimes? She is going to convince the judge that this is her and  has been her for the past several years. IT IS NOT!!!!!!

DecentDad

You don't need to share your emails with her.  The teacher doesn't need to share the emails with her.

Bottom line is "Who cares?"  That's not a make-it or break-it issue.

You should have long-distance phone call records showing your 2 years of calls to your child, to help her with homework.  You'll be able to show where the calls suddenly dropped off due to your ex.  You have copies of your correspondence with her teachers.

You'll have no problem showing that you're very involved with this child.