Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 26, 2024, 11:43:49 AM

Login with username, password and session length

I (CP) want to waive arrears but the CS office is giving ME a hard time?!

Started by zapped, May 03, 2004, 06:51:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zapped

Hi there. This is my first time posting.

I'm just curious as to why on earth a CP (me!) would be questioned about WHY I want to waive arrears against my ex. When I called the CS office today to ask what the process was in order to waive arrears, I got the third degree. The child support worker gave me the hardest time. She basically sounded like she didn't want me to waive the $2690.00 that my ex managed to build up while he was unemployed. Just for the record, my DH is an NCP and this year they took ALL our taxes b/c DH was laid off a few times and also had some arrears. I agree that some "deadbeats" deserve some IRS interception, but when the arrears are built up due to unemployment (totally not NCP's fault), I don't see the point in literally taking someone's hard earned money at the end of the year (which they might have been waiting for like we had been all year).  

I have to GO to the CS office, sign the paperwork and basically "talk" to an "investigator" just to waive arrears. Maybe this is standard, but I just can't believe that I was being treated that way (City and County of SF, California.)

Do the CS offices get somesort of kickback for all the interest that is accrued due to arrears? Or what's the deal with the attitude towards my choice to waive? I still receive current support which is fine with me anyway. Just curious. Thanks!

socrateaser

>Do the CS offices get somesort of kickback for all the
>interest that is accrued due to arrears? Or what's the deal
>with the attitude towards my choice to waive? I still receive
>current support which is fine with me anyway. Just curious.
>Thanks!