Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 25, 2024, 10:21:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Pendente Lite Hearing Order

Started by notnew, Mar 08, 2006, 12:29:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

notnew

I asked and they don't know why it is in assignment. Assignment doles out cases to judges I assume. In this county - you get to see a different judge for each hearing. I've been doing this for about 6 years now and that is the way it has always gone. It seems early to have the case in assignment for a hearing in May though.

socrateaser

>I asked and they don't know why it is in assignment.
>Assignment doles out cases to judges I assume. In this county
>- you get to see a different judge for each hearing. I've been
>doing this for about 6 years now and that is the way it has
>always gone. It seems early to have the case in assignment for
>a hearing in May though.

Maybe it's in assignment, because the judge who was originally to make the decision doesn't have time, so someone else is looking at the case.

My first reaction, is that this sort of method is ridiculous, because it means that the person who renders the decision didn't hear the case, and frankly, that arguably violates due process, because you should be entitled to a ruling from someone who actually heard the witnesses -- not someone who's merely reading a transcript of the court record.

Try to track down the person to whom this was actually assigned, and send them a note.

notnew

What upset me the most is that the judge at this last hearing stated at the start of the hearing that he hadn't had time to read the filing. He also went on to say that if he transferred custody that day, then he'd also have to address visitation and child support issues that could be taken care of at the Pre-trial anyway. I took his statements to say that he really didn't want to be bothered with my case.