Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

May 13, 2024, 06:02:58 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Stripping Parental Rights

Started by momtwoboys, Feb 07, 2004, 08:39:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

momtwoboys

Ok I am kinda new at this but I am giving it a shot.. I really hope I can get some advice or facts to know if I got a strong case.  My ex and I were never married but we have a kids together.  He has paid only 4 months of child support to me, not court appointed but agreed on by both of us and signed by a witness.  He will not come and visit my son or much less call him.  I use to call every weekend, I have asked repeatedly for him to come up here and see the child ( I live in Ohio he lives in Georgia) and he refuses because we live in the north.  I have brought the child to see him three time in the past year,  still with ou thim paying child support ( my son is 2, born in august and will be three this year).  On top of all his bad parenting skills, he has a heavy drinking problem and smokes pot too, he has also tried killing himself two time that I am aware of since the child has been born.  I am now pregnant with a new boyfriend and we want to get married and he was to adopt the child but I want the ex's rights stripped.. can this happen?

signed a very worried and tired mother...

P.S. I just want my kids to be happy and away from him I just want to know what is the best thing and if I have the grounds to do it.

Peanutsdad

Actually,

You dont need any sort of grounds, providing he is willing to allow your new DH to adopt.

In the absence of him agreeing,, its unlikely that you will be able to have his parental rights severed.

My own ex has attempted suicide several times, has spent time in a psych institution, is diagnosed bipolar, has been arrested numerous times for domestic violence......and despite all this, she still has standard visitation.

momtwoboys