Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Sep 19, 2024, 03:00:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Standard parenting plan?

Started by niente, Jul 28, 2011, 08:16:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

niente

Hi All,
My ex-girlfriend took my daughter and moved 1000 miles away pretty soon after she was born.  I was not invited, but they've recently moved back.  We have no custody agreement, and I've recently been completely cut off from access, both telephone and visitation (because my ex- doesn't like me, and is looking for ways to hurt me.)  I'm filing instructions for allocation of parental responsibilities with the Colorado courts, without an attorney.  I've got very little experience being a father, and don't want to scare a seven year-old girl by taking her away from her mother (who has succeeded in alienating my daughter's feelings for me as a parent) to live with some stranger (me).  Anyone have any insights about what would be an appropriate custody plan? I'm an elementary school teacher, who has summers off, grandparents far away, and I live 61 miles away (I know, 1 mile too far and now I'm a long-distance parent.)

Thoughts?
Thanks.

tigger

Just to clarify . . . you said that she moved 1000 miles away when the child was a baby and that you were RECENTLY completely cut off from the now 7 year old?  What has your visitation/parenting time been like for the past 7 years?  Do you have proof (photos, receipts, a log, etc)?  Has a paternity test been done to prove you are the father?
The wonderful thing about tiggers is I'm the only one!

niente

Thanks for the response!