Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Mar 29, 2024, 04:54:09 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Parental Emancipation Over 18?

Started by maidmarion622, Jan 11, 2004, 06:03:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

maidmarion622

I am a college student, 19 years old, whose parents have asked that she leave the house.  They are no longer supporting me in any way, including funding my education.  Nevertheless, I am having trouble getting financial aide because of my parents high income.  I've been told I need to file for emancipation from my parents in order to receive the financial aide I need.  Is this true, and if so, how I would I go about that?  Further, are there any laws requiring my parents to fund my education even though I am not dependent on them for my basic needs?  I would appreciate any kind of advice or references on this subject.  Thanks very much!

amanda

I was asked to leave home at 18, and was told by financial aide office that all I would have to do to prove I didn't rely on parents income was to bring in my bills that are in my name, and to show my car and ins. was listed under my name also.
HTH!

Family_Rights_WV

Apparently the person(s) you have spoken with in the financial aid office are giving you some incorrect information/the run around.

According to this sparc site http://www.deltabravo.net/cgi-bin/resource.cgi?state=wv the age of emancipation in WV is 18.

"West Virginia   when child turns 18, or if child is in high school, when child turns 20 or graduates, whichever is first"  

Apparently, at least according to the above-listed info.,  once a child reaches the age of 18 in WV, the parents are no longer obligated to support the child.  

So, you should not have to become "emancipated" from your parents to receive financial aid, as under WV state code, you have apparently reached the "age of majority", i.e., are now legally considered an "adult".