Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 28, 2024, 09:44:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length

unmarried father seeking advice on custody and visitation

Started by Brian, Aug 05, 2006, 01:10:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian

Im lookin for free information on my rights as a unmarried father. Im just getting started in a child support case. I had been caring for the child an the mother for the past five years. She left the home an moved in to another mans home. Also doesnt want me to see the child until i give her some money or go to court over the matter. Please help me get some info. So i dont feel so lost in my options at this time!!!!!!
                                                                     Thank You,
                                                                      Brian

ocean

Did she file for child support already? If she did, you can counter-sue for visitation. If she did not, you can start a case. You "can" do it yourself at your local court house BUT the first set of papers you get are usually VERY hard to change so if you can get a lawyer you should.
Child support usually gets taken from your paycheck and sent to your state. The state then sends it to the mother. There is a formula you can do to see about how much it will be. Each state is different but there are child support calculators on-line for most states. Daycare and health are added to child support.