Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 18, 2024, 06:38:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length

visitation/fighting for joint custody?

Started by scareddad, Apr 20, 2005, 09:09:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

scareddad

Hi,
  I am divorced and have a 4 yr old son. When we got divorced, I was working two jobs. I had the same days off each week. It worked out pretty good until I decided to switch to full time at my part time job. I work in retail so there is no such thing as a set schedule. At my old job my boss was very helpful and worked with me. My new job has a lot of opportunity and pays more. So I switched.
  I can't have a set schedule any more. My ex and I worked it out though and arranged for me to pick my son up on my days off. We live in a small town so he is only minutes away from me. After 2 months, my ex decided she didn't like my schedule any more so she stopped letting me have him on my days off. She said it wasn't consistant enough and it was too hard to keep up with. (My days off are on a 4 week rotation; Wed.Thur./Tue.Wed/Sat. Sun./Sun.Fri)
  It got to were I am now asking for my son. Some times I get him, some times I don't. Needless to say, I got tired of this treatment. So I hired a lawyer and filed contempt of court papers. We went to Mediation and I asked for joint custody. I came up with a schedule that works around my work pretty good, and is fair to every one involved. It was rejected. My lawyer immediately started to negotiate for visitation. We got hung up on an issue, her mother  is the "Day Care Provider" for my son. But niether one of them respect me as a father. So if I try to talk to them about something, they treat me like I'm interferring. So I don't want her mom to baby sit when I need a baby sitter. Any way, everything stopped there and we haven't talked more about it yet.