Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

May 01, 2024, 11:12:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

ORTHODONTICS NIGHTMARE

Started by antonin, Apr 05, 2004, 05:47:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nowastepmom

Here is my take on this (BTW I am a dentist), sucking ones thumb does not cause too many problems until a child's permanent teeth begin to come  in, which I am assuming is the case since you metioned that she was 9.  With this being the case, you do want to get her to stop ASAP.  Continuing to suck her thumb can not only cause her to have an open bit (when she closes her teeth, there is probably an opening between her top and bottom teeth, Right?), but this can also cause her maxilla (top jaw bone) to begin to grow incorrectly, which can cause major skelatal problems for her later, which could only be fixed by surgery.  So first off, like I stated before, stopping sucking her thumb is very important right now.

Second, the way that I work, when I send a person to a local orthodontist here (actually it is a person that I went to dental school with), I do not get any type of kickback (actually I believe that this is illegal, but not sure on that one).  What I do get in return is this orthodontist refers patients back to me that need general dental work done.  This is how most dentists, orthodontists, periodontists, etc work.  You wash my back, I will wash yours.