Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 26, 2024, 08:22:42 PM

Login with username, password and session length

My doctor signed a letter that is very detailed and direct!

Started by Nugo, Oct 15, 2004, 02:31:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nugo

Hey friends,

As you know, I've fallen behind in CS and I'm a full-time student working almost full-time hours too (32-40).  The family court in the other state I lived in, where the CP and my daughter are, decided that the income to be used in my CS requirements would be an old income, not only because I failed to send in updated income statements, but also that I had made more income before at other jobs--they were holding me to that income regardless of my injuries that pushed me away from those jobs.

So, I sent in a couple of motions to adjust CS to my actual, not what the court believes to be my potential, income.  With one of them, I sent in a hand-written letter from my doctor showing the extent of my disabilites, as well as proof that I was succesfully going through a Veterans Affairs Voc. Rehab. Program (school--bachelor's w/teaching cert.)

Denied.

Side note:
(The motion was for clarification, since the Court had required in it's contempt order that I must find full-time employment that would allow me to pay the big numbers, and until I did, I would have to send a job contact list to the CP every week.  I didn't think the court would want me to drop out of school and quit the job I had to search for a job I might never get, simply because the new job might allow me to pay the amount the court required, which is based on an income I no longer make.  
They responded in kind that, paraphrasing, "father may not enroll in college or choose to work part-time in order to avoid his CS obligation."  I just wanted it based on my income!!)