Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 19, 2024, 02:51:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Changing My Legal Team?

Started by Dublin, Sep 10, 2008, 08:34:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dublin

I am an active duty soldier in the US Army.  I am a KS resident, but I am currently stationed at Ft. Lewis, WA.  While at my previous duty station, my wife took our three sons with her to her mother's home in KS, under the pretense of a "trial separation."  One month later, she said she wanted a divorce, and another month after that, she filed.  Two years later, it is still not done.

She has gone beyond all reason to slander me, including stealing directly from my military pay to make it all but impossible for me to stay current on support and maintenance that month, hacking into an old blog of mine to change the text and then print it off for her attorney as evidence that I was a danger to our children, canceling her first divorce filing to immediately replace it with another that had much stricter visitation rules, such as state-supervised visitation for me at my expense (on the basis of the lies she fabricated that I have not had the opportunity to yet contest before a judge), harassing my loved ones with credit card fraud, and more.

When I finally got an attorney, months after she initially filed, I wanted someone who would take my case without a retainer, who knew what kind of money I had to work with and would in turn work with me.  I have gotten what I paid for, or more correctly, what I have been billed for; every time I've asked if they want a portion of the bill paid, they say not to worry about it, and that we will work something out when it is all done.  In the meantime, they've continually tried to convince me that there is no hope (though I know in KS there is little) that the court will place the children with me, and so I should settle the case and get what I can and move on with life.