Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 15, 2024, 09:09:24 PM

Login with username, password and session length

KICKASS! LaMusga prevailed!!

Started by DecentDad, Apr 29, 2004, 11:24:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DecentDad

http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/opinions/documents/S107355.DOC

New move-away precedent established in California!

kiddosmom

OK, I read it, or most of it, and have no clue what is is.

Anyone speak ENGLISH care to translate?

mango

DecentDad

Hi,

I'm not a lawyer, so I don't quite know what the implication of this case will be on move-away orders in California.

But... here's the basic history of the LaMusga case and what the Supreme Court ruled about.

1.  Parents divorced, biomom is ordered primary custodial parent.

2.  Biomom's new husband gets a good job in Ohio.  Biomom asks trial court to let her move.

3.  Biofather (also remarried) says the move will be detrimental to the children's relationship with him.

4. Trial court said that biofather had presented enough evidence that a re-evaluation was warranted before ruling on the move-away.

5.  Custody evaluator said that move would be bad for kids' relationship with dad, that mom has a history of contributing to alienation.  Evaluator said that if mom moves and kids stay with dad, that would also be bad for them because they have good relationship with mom, stepdad, and half-sister.  Evaluator said that both parents were "good enough" parents, but they have high conflict between them.

6.  Trial court weighed all evidence and said that mom will remain primary custodial parent unless she moves to Ohio, in which case custody will switch to dad, as that would be in kids' best interest.

7.  Mom appealed.  Appellate Court found that trial court abused discretion and didn't follow Burgess (i.e., case law regarding move-away).

8.  Dad asked Supreme Court to review.