Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Sep 28, 2024, 09:18:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length

impact of GAL at temporary hearing?

Started by maxwell, Feb 18, 2004, 05:57:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

maxwell

Hi,
  I won't review my entire case but suffice to say I obtained joint custody (every other week) of my then ~4 month old son back in June, 2003. BM (who appears to be a borderline/narcistic) has history of custody battles with her previous 2 children (2 different fathers also). She was ordered to drug testing, psych exam, social services involved, etc. She has been evicted again, and is also violating the current court order by having her boyfriend stay over (actually live there) when my son is present, and I have it on tape by a PI.  I have met with the GAL a few times (he once spent 5 hours with me and my son). I am a hi-tech professional with a good job, recently bought a new home, and have no criminal or civil records unlike BM who uses men and has a nomadic history, criminal and drug past and present, etc.

Anyway, she refuses to meet with the GAL (we don't understand why), and due to the circumstances we scheduled another temp hearing in a few weeks. My understanding is that the GAL can say a few words at this hearing as well as my lawyer (her lawyer quit as she didn't pay him nor heed his words). It appears that the GAL is going to fully support me, and hopefully recommend that I get full custody of my son.   My understanding is, that the judge usually sides with the GAL's recommendation.   Is that the experience/understanding most here have?  If so, and I get full custody, I will then ask for a final hearing ASAP and get this thing settled so my son can have some stability/safety in his life. (This is occuring in SC, if it matters.)

thx,
m-

Indigo Mom