Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Jun 25, 2024, 10:31:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length

HIPPA

Started by I cry_ in_the_dark, Feb 20, 2004, 09:31:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

I cry_ in_the_dark

Not quite understanding of the HIPPA act...

My X had taken my son to the Hospital where  his current wife is a nurse. (Please keep in mind, my children were not born in this hospital or ever visited this hospital as, as an EMT, I found this hospital to be below substandard, which my X agreed with prior to meeting his current wife.) In my son's  hospital medical records, there are statements that he was repeatedly abused by his mother( me). My son had a bruise on his leg from falling off of his bike, which was witnessed by my daughter and a neighbor child.

Question:
1. Under HIPPA......do I have the right to demand this be stricken from my son's record?

Kitty C.

I am also an EMT, and when the new act hit last year, not only were we fully informed from the state level on down, but extensively at the hospital where I also work.  If your state didn't educate you thoroughly on it, demand it, because the penalties, both personal and for your service are HUGE.

Here is a link to a summary of HIPAA offered by HHS:

http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacysummary.pdf

If you go to bottom of page 12, you will find information about amendments.

What I would strongly recommend is contacting the hospital's medical records AND compliance departments (go in person with CO in hand and ask to see someone higher up than a clerk) and go from there.

Good luck and let us know what happens, okay?  
Handle every stressful situation like a dog........if you can't play with it or eat it, pee on it and walk away.......

socrateaser