Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 19, 2024, 09:54:01 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Father looking for joint PHYSICAL custody

Started by joso, Sep 05, 2005, 08:05:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joso

This is my first time here, so please bear with me.  I'm about to go into a custody battle with my daughters mother.  We were never married, and we split when my daughter was 3 months old.  For the last 2 years it has been a constant battle.  I reside in NJ and my daughter lives in PA with her mother, grandmother and aunt.  There is a history of mental illness in the family and I'm finding that may be true with my daughters mother.  In the city of Philadelphia, every time I walk into court, I already feel like I have lost just for being the father.  I have one of the best attorneys in the area, and I still feel like I have no shot at winning.  I have read many books and articles that I should not go into court trying to trash the abilities and credibilities of her mother, but how do you do that with 2 years of anger penned up waiting for this hearing?  I truly believe that at this point, my daughter's welfare is in danger.  What I am trying to do is to creat as normal a life for her as possible without making things more confusing for her.  I believe that she is at a very critical point of her life and I believe that her mother does not always have her best interests.  My questions are as follows:
 1. How should this be handled, all opinions are welcome.
 2. If I have to negotiate, where should I draw the line without compromising my daughters safety?

Thanks for any help.

MYSONSDAD

I have been in my battle now for 3 years. Seems like forever.

From what I can remember, NJ and PA are both rough states on Fathers.

The archives here are wonderful. Just go to the search engine and you will receive much information.

How do you feel your daughter is in danger? That will help us in trying to help you. We need more info.