Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Jun 25, 2024, 11:45:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Newbie - What now?

Started by g10ry2g0d, Mar 15, 2005, 06:34:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

g10ry2g0d

Let me give you some background. My wife and I have been married 3.5 years. We have a 2 year old and a 6 month old. Early in our relationships I was physically abusive. It wasn't a daily occurrence, but happened a few times. It is something that I am ashamed of and went to marriage counseling and considered it resolved 2 years ago. Since then my wife has been really bitter and has not been able to forgive me. She has developed a very controlling attitude. I have tried to appease her in anyway to make the marriage work. We moved to Rhode Island 10 months ago (after I graduated) so that she could be near her family again. We lived in Georgia before then. We moved in with her family first until we could get our feet under us. A few months after we moved here, she kicked me out for irreconcilable differences. I got a place on my own. She let me have my oldest son on the weekends, and sometimes throughout the week. A couple months later she wanted to move in with me. I have been determined throughout to make this marriage work, so I was happy when she wanted to move in. She stayed here for a few months until she left to move back in with her parents Sunday. I have called to talk to my son every night and would ask her when I could have them or spend some time with them. She stated that she would only work something out with our lawyers. This morning I talked to her and she said that she put a restraining order on me, which is clearly malicious. I know my case is going to be complicated because of my past actions, because we have only been in RI for 10 months, and the anger that she is putting into this. Ideally I would want full custody of my boys, but I would settle for shared. I know my career would support that because I have normal 9-