Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Sep 28, 2024, 08:26:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Custody Order

Started by SamsDad, Mar 21, 2004, 01:51:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SamsDad

This is my first time here and I have a question. I was recently in a custody battle with my ex girlfriend and I had to represent myself becaue I didn't have money for a lawyer and she did. After months of it dragging on we came to agreement that she have sole legal and physical custody and I have reasonable and liberal visitation that is mutually agreed upon. Did I shoot myself in the foot with this?

Also, she is planning on moving in a few months to another state because of a job transfer. Can I do anything to stop her? She said that I can't because we don't have anything in the consent order that says she can't move and because she has sole custody, she can move if she wants. Is this true? Can I take her back to court to get the order modified? If so what are my chances?

Thanks for your help

nosonew

You NEVER should have given up LEGAL custody.  Yep, shot yourself in the foot on that one.  You have NO say in where the child lives, medical info, school info, etc.  You should have had an attorney or gotten on this board sooner.  Hopefully someone has some info that will be useful to you regarding changing that.  Also, you should NEVER agree to "liberal visitation", you can't enforce that type of wording.  Sorry.

DecentDad

Hey there,

I'm not an attorney, but here's my take:

Sorry to say that yes, you got royally screwed on this, and it's going to be quite an uphill battle to change anything.  Unless your ex is a very very bad parent who uses drugs and sleeps with men in front of your child, even the best lawyer has a very slim chance at changing anything.