Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Apr 26, 2024, 10:40:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Parenting evaluations

Started by Focused, Jun 15, 2005, 01:14:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Focused

I am new to all this and having given up on my son's mother EVER giving me some custodial rights, I am now pursuing mediation and preparing to file in court if the results are not satisfactory.
Basically, I am tired of my son and I being put through the ordeals that his mother puts herself through (moving from Minneapolis to Portland, back to Minneapolis and then to California in the space of 4 years). It has been almost impossible to create a stable life with him and my visitation swings on her moods. The most recent negative choice on her part was the unilateral decision to send him away for most of the summer, which I have gotten her to whittle down 2 weeks away and 5 weeks with me. I have no custodial rights and have been put through the wringer trying to accomodate her at all occasions in order to have access to my son. I grew up without my father as a result of divorce and have made it a priority to be present for my son.
I am really interested in finding out more about the Parenting evaluations and am wondering if that is a step I will have to wait for a court order for or if it can be a voluntary move. I have no intention of fighting with his mother for my rights and the rights of my son unless I must, but repeated choices that seperate he and I are making it feel like I must. Any advice on ways to seek an amicable agreement without the acrimony of a full-on custody battle would be greatly appreciated. I feel very strongly that this would be in the best interest of the three of us, especially my son and myself as his mother is extremely volatile and has threatened among other things to "disappear" if I do file in court.
Quick backround.........