Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Oct 18, 2024, 08:38:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Son's Saving Account Closed

Started by damiang, Mar 01, 2011, 11:57:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

damiang

I'm new to all this so I'll try and explain myself the best I can.

I live in California and have a 4 1/2 year old boy.
Me and his mother (we were never married) split up when he was 1 1/2 years old.
At the time we were still together we opened up a savings account under his name. My son could not remove any money from the account until he turned 18 years of age. I put in more than $1,000 of my money to get him started, his mother never put in a single dime. The way the account would work is that every year the money was in the account it would accumulate interest.
Around the time my son was 2y/o I was laid off from my job.
I lost my car cause I couldn't pay it and I had to move back in with my parents.
I stopped paying her child support because I was broke.
I tryed helping in anyway I could, but there was no way I could afford to give her $700 a month.
At the time I didn't know I could go get a modification to get my payments lowered.
So for a whole year I didn't pay her the full amount of child support.
My current girlfriend was the one to inform me that I could get a modification. So around the time my son was 3y/o I went back to court and got my payments reduced to $90 month plus $50 for the arrears.
Still I owed her more than $4,000 in arrears. I started working again so she took me back to court to get more money now I currently give her $200 a month plus $100 in arrears.
Just recently I remember about the account we open for my son 4yrs ago.
I went to the bank to see if I could deposite some money in his account, and the account had been closed for more than a year!
I asked BM and she said she withdrew all the money and closed the account!
She said she took the money around the time I stopped paying her child support.