Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Mar 28, 2024, 02:53:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Firefighter Visitation Schedule

Started by jumpinghoops, Aug 15, 2007, 10:11:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jumpinghoops

I'm looking for examples of a Parenting Plan / Visitation schedule for firefighters or people who work 24 hours on and 48 hours off.

Thanks.

Kitty C.

That's a toughy..........I'm an EMT-B and I know what kind of schedules you guys can have.  A lot will depend on what the schedule of the other parent is.  Getting a split 50/50 could only happen if the OP has the exact opposite schedule you do, or arrangements are made for child care while the OP and you are both working.

Do your shifts start/end at 6 am.? Do you have scheduled holidays off?  Another suggestion is talk to a co-worker who shares custody and see what kind of arrangement they've worked out.  All I can stress is be VERY careful not to allow your schedule to be a factor in minimizing the time with your kids.  Yes, it's difficult to work around, but don't let the 'opposing side' make it an issue to limit the time with your kids.

Hope this helps........
Handle every stressful situation like a dog........if you can't play with it or eat it, pee on it and walk away.......

gidgetgirl

http://forums.firehouse.com/archive/index.php/t-21579.html

http://www.robertgradel.com/mediation/mediation_strategies_resolving_child_custody.htm
Suggested alternative possession orders.
Is one parent an airline employee, in law enforcement, fire fighter or other job working non-standard hours? Does either side have a significant amount of free time to take the kids to ball games and such? If so, modifying the SPO to fit the parties situation could seal the deal.
Here are some ideas for possession orders that are alternatives to SPO visitation:
Split custody - Alternating months