Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Oct 18, 2024, 07:25:25 AM

Login with username, password and session length

New User - Summer issues

Started by jakobsmom, Jul 22, 2008, 09:51:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jakobsmom

Let me begin with some background information.

I have sole custody of my 10year old son. He is HF autistic. The custody order for his dad and I states that the NCP should receive "a reasonable amount" of visitation rights. My son has been visiting his father out of state for about 5 years. I have been paying for the transportation for about 4 of the 5 years. The first year we spilt the cost of the one trip.

My son just retrurned from a 4week visit with his dad. The visit wasn't very good and he returned a week early. The dad's wife has made it clear she does not want my son there or does she want anything to do with him. My son states that he doesn't want to go back to visit ever again.

Here's my question: Since my visitation does not state the exact amount of time the dad gets to visit, do I have to send my son anyway? Also, the order states that the father must pay for all transportation for visit.

Please help. I really don't want my son to go back but I also want him to have a relationship with his dad.

Giggles

If the StepMom doesn't want him there...then why is this an issue?

I would say if Dad want's to spend time with him that he would have to purchase the tickets.  

Also, it could be that 4 weeks was too long considering son being autistic.  I've read that even HF autistic children can get overstimulated and require strict routines.  A trip of that length may have been too much for him and probably too much for a Stepmom that doesn't have the experience to handle him as well.