Welcome to SPARC Forums. Please login or sign up.

Mar 28, 2024, 10:48:30 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Custodial Parent's right to say "No" to Non-Custodial Parent

Started by evANGEL, Dec 28, 2004, 08:22:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

evANGEL

I'm new to this sight; forgive me if this is long. I need help with my current situation. I am the custodial parent, Mother, of my 5-year-old Son. My son lives with me & my new husband full time due to my son's father moving out of state since August. He also has refused to pay child support since June of this year. He has only visited my son once in the last 4 months for one week at my suggestion while my new husband & I took our 5-day honeymoon.

Now, my son's father, who I'll now refer to as the NCP, wants to come back to visit for his allowed days, T-W-Th, take my son to Epcot - which means taking him out of his school (private pre-school that I pay for). The NCP was given my son's days off for the holidays & told me he was going to make arrangements for Epcot during this time. Now, it has changed to Jan. 4-6. I refuse to let my son miss school when he just had his Holiday Vacation. Does anyone know if I have the right to say "No" to these plans?

wendl

Personally speaking as a mom and a stepmom.

Is dad thinking of taking your son during his court ordered visistation??? If so he can depending on what the current court orders say.

Come on now it's preschool, it won't hurt the child to miss a few days to be able to spend it with his father.  I took my son out of school for 2 days (and he is in middle school so he would miss a lot more than a preschooler) so he could go see his father over the holidiays.

Sometimes we as parents need to think of how the NCP feels, many get reduced to visitors in their childrens life and that isn't fair to the children whom love them no matter what we may think of our ex's.

**These are my opinions, they are not legal advice**

Stepmom0418